Photo credit:  David Popple ©2019

Jenny Jackson is a composer based in Sheffield.

Jenny Jackson successfully completed a PhD in composition in 2009 having studied with Professor George Nicholson at the University of Sheffield. Subsequently, she formed Platform 4 - a composer collective - with Tom Owen, Chris Noble and Tom James (also alumni) and has forged a career as a composer, strongly influenced by a long-term interest in the visual and dramatic arts and the theatricality of musical performance. She has collaborated to produce multidisciplinary projects with visual artists, sculptors, writers and choreographers, often with Platform 4, including a major collaboration with dancer Hannah Wadsworth and soprano Andrea Tweedale to produce Embodiments – four pieces of staged dance and music-theatre in 2017. Recent commissions include Mimesis  for the Berlin-based Passepartout Duo, Purge (part of Melodrama - a Platform 4 collaborative suite for winds) commissioned by Music in the Round, and Expel - a one-breath piece for flautist Kathryn Williams. Her work has been performed by Ensemble 360, Ligeti Quartet, Nieuw Ensemble, Philip Thomas and Opera on Location.

Jenny teaches piano, composition and theory at her home in Sheffield and is an ABRSM Theory examiner. She plays viola in Sheffield Symphony Orchestra and runs the Sheffield Viola Ensemble. 


Limb for solo viola & orchestra (2019) was premiered on Sunday 10th March, by Hallam Sinfonia, Sheffield Cathedral, at the finale concert of the Classical Weekend 2019

With Maria Do Vale Antunes (soloist) afterwards:Jenny  maria after Limb premiere 1032019jpg

Cloudscape for flute choir (2017) has been published by Tetractys Publishing. Originally composed for Sheffield Flute Choir, this is now also available for low flute choir.

We asked Jenny to write this piece for our performance in Sheffield Winter Gardens as part of the Classical Sheffield Weekend, and it worked wonderfully in this space. Many of our members were quite unfamiliar with contemporary music, and this was a gentle introduction for them to playing a piece without a time signature - working with durations and cues instead. It's a great piece for working on communication as an ensemble, using three groups of players who need to coordinate both within their own groups and with the other groups. It really encourages players to focus on the detail of the dynamics, to create the effect of sound 'drifting' from one group to another - depicting the passing clouds! 

Rachel Shirley - Director of Sheffield Flute Choir

Order here: Cloudscape 


Also published by Tetractys PublishingHooting, not Drinking (2016) for solo flute (doubling alto flute) and flute ensemble with blown bottles.

Order here: Hooting, not Drinking

Upcoming Concerts:

Thursday 6th April 19:30
When I am Gone* / University of Sheffield Chamber Choir /  University of Sheffield, Firth Hall

Recent performances:

Sunday 10th March 2019
Limb* / Hallam Sinfonia / Maria Do Vale Antunes (viola soloist) / Sheffield Cathedral
Classical Weekend festival event: Ode to Joy
*Premiere (financially supported by British Viola Society)

Saturday 9th March 2019
Focus Pull / Sarentino Quartet / Channing Hall, Sheffield
Classical Weekend festival event: The Art of the Quartet

Friday 8th March 2019
Clackers / Platform 4 / DINA venue, Sheffield
Classical Weekend festival event: Breaking New Ground

Monday 25th February 2019

Expel* / Kathryn Williams (flute) / The Crescent Community Venue, York

Sun 13th May 2018

Purge* / Ensemble 360 / Kathryn Williams (flute) / St Matthew's Church, Sheffield

Part of a short suite of pieces composed by Platform 4  for wind instruments - Melodrama - commissioned by Music in the Round for the Sheffield Chamber Music Festival.

Thursday 26th April 2018 

Torque* / Ligeti Quartet / University of Sheffield, Firth Hall

Friday 20th April 2018 

Mimesis* / Passepartout Duo / Upper Chapel, Sheffield


"Following a performance of Haydn’s ‘String Quartet Op.33 No.1’ rendered with a beauty enhanced by perfect clarity, Ensemble 360 gave a vibrant rendition of Jenny Jackson’s ‘Pull Focus [sic]’. Very loosely based on a tone row from the Haydn ‘Russian’ quartet we’d just heard, this was an energetically ace new commission and a reminder of Ensemble 360’s abilities and enthusiasm in performing new music."

Samantha Holland, Now Then magazine